–Read It!– Nicole Says…Read These Books

By Nicole McManus

Summertime is coming to an end, and there’s no better way to spend the day at the beach than with an exciting read. Below are two incredible psychological thrillers that you will easily finish before the sun goes down.

The Last Resort: by Marissa Stapley

Dr. Miles Markell and Dr. Grace Markell run a successful marriage counseling service in an ideal destination spa resort. They set strict rules for their clients, but that is why their clients come to them. Two couples have arrived, each with their own set of hopes and communication problems. Despite the tropical storm brewing, it seems the real chaos will come from the experts. Will everyone survive their time at the retreat? Or will someone’s secret doom them all?

Broken into different sections, with teasing psychiatry interviews mixed in between, this is a fast-paced mystery. Secrets are the main theme for each of the characters, and the impending hurricane spells trouble. The author does an incredible job of placing readers in this paradise retreat. It has all the suspense and intrigue of the great classic who-dunnit books.

Fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Big Little Lies, will want to read this book as soon as possible. I have never read this author before, but I have added her other two books to my wish list. I was always a fan of Clue board games, and I can totally see them making a version based on this book. This fun read was exciting and kept me on my toes, as I tried to figure who did it.

 


 

A Stranger on the Beach: by Michele Campbell 

Caroline has the perfect house and the perfect marriage… or so it seems. However when the truth comes out, she seeks solace in the arms of a stranger. Each slight decision has consequences, and Caroline’s moment of weakness may prove to be detrimental.

The author will scoop readers up in the intrigue, and they will not be able to stop reading! The alternating points-of-view will get heart rates pounding. The unreliable narrators provide numerous twists and turns that will have readers guessing until the very end. Fans of The Couple Next Door will thoroughly be intrigued by this mystery.

Psychological thrillers are one of my favorite genres. I am always on the lookout for my new favorite. It was nice to read this type of book, with the male becoming obsessed, instead of the female. I love discovering debut authors, but it is even more exciting when I pick up a book, and realize that I have had the author on my wish list for years. Michele Campbell falls into this second group. I read A Stranger on the Beach and loved it, so when I researched her other books, I realized I had two titles already on my wish list. Time to find them immediately! This is the type of book that will haunt you once you have finished the last line.

About this writer

  • Nicole McManus

    Nicole McManus loves to read, to the point that she is sure she was born with a book in her hands. She writes book reviews in the hopes of helping others find the magic found through reading. Contact her at ariesgrlreview.com.

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave your mark with style

Comment in style

Stand out from the crowd and add some flare beside your comment.
Get your free Gravatar today!

Make it personal

avatar versus gravatar Close